Don’t Throw It To Mo – Geisel Award

This week we read the 2016 Geisel Award winner. The award is named after Dr. Theodore Seuss Geisel and is given to the author of the best beginner reader. This year’s winner is Don’t Throw the Ball to Mo by David Adler.


David Adler is the author of several wonderful beginner reader series including Cam Jansen and Bones series.  He also wrote the Picture Book series of biographies.

After the book, I demonstrated a catalog search for books about football (Subject) and had several on display for students to check out.

Additional Activities:
Video/Activities – BrainPop – Football

Books Online – Tumblebooks (Available free through our local public library)

1) Game Day by Tiki Barber
2) Teammates by Tiki Barber


About SHaberstroh

I'm an Elementary School Librarian, with a Masters in Library and Information Science degree from Kent State University. I retired at the end of the school year June 2017.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: