Mr. Wuffles by David Wiesner

Last week we watched the video of Mr. Wuffles by David Wiesner.  I made the video using my iPad.  I then uploaded the video to YouTube so students could watch it later at home. After watching the video we went through the book a second time and talked about what we thought was going on in the story, since the book has no words.

Extension Activity – Alien Comic Printable

This week we are summarizing the 5 books that we read for the Buckeye Children’s Book Award and then voting for our favorite one.  I modeled summarizing  the first book and then the students helped me with the others.  I began with the title and then named the main characters.  Then I said something about the beginning, the middle and the end.  Using this structure, it is   amazing how well even first graders are able to do this for all the books.  For some book report graphic organizers, check out the ones by Enchanted Learning.

The students then voted for their favorite book.  We used the  ballots that were provided on the Buckeye Children’s Book Award website under Librarian or Teacher Resources.

About shaberstroh

I'm an Elementary School Librarian, with a Masters in Library and Information Science degree from Kent State University.

Comments are closed.

